Slideshare: 26 Time Management Hacks I Wish I’d Known at 20 by @egarbugli

I stumbled upon this deck again and it’s really something that I want to share to the younger ones. Time management wasn’t exactly something I learned when I was starting out. I came from projects where OT would become the norm at certain points, and we even had Saturday work. I was so time-poor. As I grew older, I came to realize how valuable my time is. How I could make up for losses for some things, but I can never get back time I have lost or wasted. And that the more efficiently I manage my time will allow me to spend it on things that matter more.

Saved myself some time by not writing my own presentation covering the same topic.

One of the points I like is #18 which had a quote from Jason Cohen (@asmartbear):

Only ever work on the thing that will have the biggest impact.

I think most especially for the younger ones, we often get sidetracked by initiatives or other non-project related tasks. We fill up our plate with a lot of things. We say “yes” to this and that. But then you have to think about it, step back and look at the big picture, and reflect whether the things that you are doing are really the things that you need to grow or achieve your goals. As an aspiring tester/technologist, are these tasks really relevant to making myself more technical and capable in my craft?

2 thoughts on “Slideshare: 26 Time Management Hacks I Wish I’d Known at 20 by @egarbugli

  1. Great slides, thanks for sharing KC.
    Could you please send it back to a younger me too? :-)

    These days I think one of my bigger problems is that there is so much I want to read/try/learn, and I keep at it without taking enough time to really reflect and think through what I have “learned”.
    Slowing down and doing things properly is probably what I need.

    Regards,
    Geir

  2. Pingback: Testing Bits – 11/24/13 – 11/30/13 | Testing Curator Blog

Leave a Reply

