Hello again, world

I haven’t been in this space for some time. Lately, I’ve been instagramming about my lovely dogs and tumblring my attempts of doing art. I am still in software testing. I still feel that the work we testers do highly contributes to making software better (or at least less sucky).

I’m around month and a week into my 2nd mobile testing engagement. We’re at the 2nd week of our 2nd Sprint. There are a lot of things that are new in this project so it’s a really great learning opportunity for myself and more so for my younger tester team mates. For one, we’re adopting an Agile Scrum methodology, and it’s probably the closest we’ve gotten to an actual agile project (we have some scrumbuts). This project is also an implementation project, so this provides them with the opportunity to see something get built from scratch. I think testers who haven’t tried working in an implementation project are missing out. This is where the fun is, and where testing can make the most impact. Plus, this one’s building a mobile app so it has a really modern feel to it.

So tomorrow’s a holiday and we still haven’t received a build for half of the user stories in scope of this sprint or for the fixes of the bugs that were already reported, and Friday is the last day of the sprint. Ah, scrummerfall! It’s a word I picked up yesterday. One of the questions in a webinar I attended touched on the topic of agilefall or scrummerfall. It happens in Agile projects wherein the testing work starts at around the 8th day and the testers are scrambling to test the features and doing overtime work to catch up, and the developers are already moving on to other things. If you’re experiencing scrummerfall, sorry but you planned it that way. The good thing is you can choose to not plan it that way (or so the speaker says). Someone needs to raise their hand and point it out so that the team is planning for a sprint that has something testable as early as day 2 or 3.

Something to raise for our retro. :p

Leave a Reply

