Looking for that singular statement

There’s been some recent talk about vision and goals where I work, and that has somehow led me into thinking about what I personally stand for (at least professionally). Or maybe it could also be because I watched Batman v Superman last weekend and there was this scene wherein the lady senator wants to know what Superman stands for. Anyways, I tried to give it some thought. The truisms and platitudes that I often say crossed my mind. I thought of my default thoughts and my fave quotes. But it’s hard to capture what I stand for or what I’d like to stand for in a singular statement.

Be kind. Play fair.

Let your work speak for itself. Keep on learning. Keep the saw sharp.

No, not quite. Each statement doesn’t quite cut it.

Then something hit me. 16 years out of college, and it hit me! I don’t think I’ve ever been the type who’s so overly gung-ho about graduating from our state university. But I realized that the singular statement I was looking for was in our school motto all along:

Honor and Excellence.

Honor. This captures how it’s not about winning all the time, but more importantly it’s how you played the game. It covers honesty, integrity and respect. It covers selflessness, doing what is right, and giving credit where it’s due.

Excellence. This highlights competence. It covers knowing your craft and continuing to learn to be better than you were previously. It covers setting the bar high. It covers uncompromising standards. This also extends to paving the way for others to excel and being a spotlight to others when it’s their time to shine.

Honor and Excellence. You need both. It’s not one or the other. This means being good at what you do without the needless assholiness. This means rising above others while still remaining grounded. This means expanding your mind, capabilities, scope, or whatever; without getting so full of yourself.

This is a good reminder of what I’d like to see more of in myself, and what I should reward or encourage more in others.

Leave a Reply

