Honest KC needs to put some brakes on it

I gave a rather tactless feedback during a meeting I was in earlier today. Somehow, we stumbled on to the weekly tidbit email. I might have implied or maybe even explicitly said that it was rather useless, either way that cat’s out of the bag. I was wrong, my feedback could have been more constructive. What I could have said is what I had emailed months ago that their weekly tidbits could be more helpful if they provided some content and/or context to it.

I mean, the one I received and gave feedback to was a tidbit with an image containing the text:

Test Managers, level up your basic excel skills! ☺

That’s it. No link, no content, no context. It doesn’t give me a background on why, what good will this bring, what is it for, where is this coming from, etc. And even if I had been interested in that tip, it would have been helpful if I was given a lead to some recommended reference that had been helpful to them in the past that way I wouldn’t need to scour the internet for some really good and quick reference. That aside, I also think that there could have been more testing-y skills to level up on over Excel skills.

Anyway, should I have even bothered? Well, maybe I could have just ignored it, but it comes in once a week into my mailbox without the option to unsubscribe. I do recognize that the intent is good. But you know what they say about good intentions — aside from paving the way to hell, good intentions aren’t enough.

Leave a Reply

