What I’ve been reading, and what to read next

Yesterday, I was shopping in Amazon for the next book to read. I was having a bit of a hard time since I couldn’t really pinpoint what I was looking for. Maybe it’s a mix of quarantine blues, and this feeling that the books I’ve been reading have quite recurrent themes just differently stated.

This 2020, so far, I’ve gone through a few titles. There were topics I read in line with product management:

There were books about leadership, evolutionary organizations, and maybe somewhat about driving change:

  • Brave New Work (2019) by Aaron Dignan – At USD5.99, this feels quite sulit!
  • Reinventing Organizations (Illustrated, 2016) by Frederic Laloux, illustrated by Etienne Appert – This one is available in an option the author calls “pay-what-feels-right.”
  • Going Horizontal (2018) by Samantha Slade – Among the three, I think this is the only one aimed with individuals more than the leaders in mind.

Still on leadership:

  • Essentialism (2014) by Greg McKeown
  • The Culture Code (2018) by Daniel Coyle
  • Fast Times (2020), a perspective from leaders at McKinsey & Company – This one was available at Kindle Unlimited which I had a discounted subscription of $0.99/month but only for a limited period back then.
  • Art of Action (2011) by Stephen Bungay – Not available in Kindle

Then on leadership with focus on communication:

Then there’s this one that’s a bit out of place, but quite relevant in these quarantine times:

  • Remote (2013) by Jason Fried and David Heinemeier Hansson – (but I like their newer book more)

The leadership books and organizational change books especially are really more intended towards leaders (as it should be, I suppose) than individual contributors like me. But that’s not to say I don’t get anything out of them. The insights are very interesting, the anecdotes mostly enjoyable, and the examples give you an idea on how to possibly be better. It just takes a little extra layer of processing of how can this apply to me, or how can I apply this in my own capacity, or how do I get THEM to apply this. So back to my shopping… I guess one other reason why I was stuck was because I felt like reading similar books will only be like the author preaching to the choir, and I’m not really the one who needs convincing.

So I’ve decided on a much lighter reading on a topic that I also enjoy (because of course). Next read is: Dreyer’s English: An Utterly Correct Guide to Clarity and Style.

One thought on “What I’ve been reading, and what to read next

  1. Pingback: Read: Agile Conversations | testkeis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s