That dot-dot-dot menu (…)

My teammates and I were grooming a user story and we had to document certain expectations around that particular icon. I initially typed it in as “context menu (…)” which I learned later on that it wasn’t. And my teammates told me that they just call it the dot-dot-dot menu. Well, that works. But I was curious as to what it’s officially called, so I googled.

– dot dot dot menu
ellipsis button (singular) according to Microsoft documentation guidelines
More according to Apple
– more options
– others: meatballs, dumplings
– burger
– hamburger
navigation icon according to Google
– kebab
– vertical ellipsis button
overflow menu according to Google

I mentioned I got it wrong about the “context menu”. One of the results I came across had a description for the context menuContextual menus aren’t triggered by a consistent UI element. They appear next to where a user taps, and their actions can vary based on the tap target.

Anyways, one image result that turned up summarized those icons quite nicely:

Leave a comment