First 180 days as Test Manager

The first 180 days in my new work as Test Manager had gone by without much fanfare. I had been quite preoccupied with my project and admin work that I haven’t really had a chance to celebrate. But now that I’m writing about it, here’s a virtual pat on the back, self.

So what’s been up since the last time?

  • Still engaged in the same project as before
  • Mokku continues to be my bestest friend. Chrome DevTools is a BFF.
  • Fun times were had when the dev and I created test users with names like Pol Axes, Patty Kim Lang, May Tama. But the humor will likely be lost for non-Filipinos.
  • Finally got the answer to the mystery of how Benny (our scrum master’s dog) almost died. Backstory: She intro’d the story while we were doing small talk in our daily stand up. But then we had to get down to business, not to defeat the Huns, but to have the scrum updates. Then we ended up leaving the call without getting the details. And I was like the last person to disconnect from the call because I thought it was going to be shared after the updates.
  • Interviews, hiring, and onboarding are still ongoing. And I’m sort of helping onboard folks even those outside of our test team.
  • Miro, which I used long before I transferred, continues to be so helpful I haven’t given up my consultant plan even though I pay for it myself
  • Test Assessments seem to be a thing, so I’m glad I had a chance experiencing a bit of it in my previous project
  • Career progression has also been a recent topic within the wider QA/Test team (not just PH). It’s just something I haven’t been prioritizing within the local team because we’re all newly hired so I don’t think anyone’s getting promoted at 6 months in.
  • Experienced a couple of site visits
  • Met one of the NZ managers who flew over
  • We also had somewhat of a COVID scare
  • And a problem with molds (not me personally, the office had a mold problem)
  • We had two developments on our work space. We moved into the new workspace (the one that had molds) last June, and again this August.
  • Tried to engage bench team mates into team building (not the fun and games kind, more like building the test team)
  • Had a team lunch which we of course extended to the dev team. First time make an expense claim.

I guess that’s pretty much the highlights at the top of my head.

I’ll close this off by sharing an interesting bug I found recently. It’s something we were able to replicate on the iPhone when the regional settings are for a location that uses the date format ‘dd/mm/yyyy’. As captured in the gif, what happened was I tapped on Aug 4, but what got selected was April 8. I was more amused than troubled by the bug because it reminded me of when I got a free birthday cake because of the date-month mix-up.

🍰

Leave a comment