Busy-ness

I saw this title in Medium – Being ‘Busy’ Doesn’t Mean You’re Successful – and had the feeling that I was going to pretty much agree with the content. And I was right. I’m really not a fan of being busy – Especially of being fake busy or of perceiving busyness as a sign of importance or, as the post mentioned, of success.

I looked back at an older post (from nearly 9 years ago!!). And I’d just like to reiterate some quotes and links. Who knows, maybe 9 years from now, if I happen to be swamped or overwhelmed at work, I’ll need a gentle reminder that there’s more to life than being “busy”.

  • “It is not enough to be busy. So are the ants. The question is: What are we busy about?” – Henry D. Thoreau
  • The Cult of Busy (Mar 2010, Scott Berkun)
  • You’re Only as Busy as You Want Yourself to Be (Jun 2009, Jurgen Appelo)
  • Being ‘Busy’ Doesn’t Mean You’re Successful (Jul 2019, Darius Foroux)
  • Derek Sivers’ notes to “A Guide to the Good Life: The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy” by William Irvine
  • “A good man will not waste himself upon mean and discreditable work or be busy merely for the sake of being busy.” – Seneca
  • “To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” – Oscar Wilde

Leave a comment